Can your soap makers use their oils in salad dressing?

I shouldn’t be admitting this, but I am anyway. I ran out of olive oil while making salad dressing and I “borrowed” some from the soap making for the dressing.

Many soap makers claim their oils are “food grade”, yet they purchase them from soap making wholesalers and if one actually reads the MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) of  the oils, they specifically say “cosmetic grade” or “not for human consumption”.
The olive, coconut, palm, rice bran, avocado, sunflower and castor oils are just a few of the food quality oils we use. Even the tallow used in our shaving soaps is food grade. (Ask my dog, she always gets some on tallow rendering day)
Others, like shea butter, are organic and unrefined, maintaining their skin beneficial properties.
Yes, I stole some of the olive oil to make a salad, but that’s why I feel pretty darn good about the soap I use on my skin!

th

Leave a Reply

